Congratulations, Hospital Medicine 2015 Research, Innovation and Vignette Winners!

By  |  April 1, 2015 | 

Congratulations to the winners of SHM’s 2015 poster session winners at Hospital Medicine 2015! This year, SHM received a record-breaking number of abstract submissions and selected. To see all of the accepted abstracts at Hospital Medicine 2015, visit


Overall: Standardizing Attending Rounds to Improve the Patient Experience: A Cluster Randomized Controlled Trial
Bradley Monash, MD; Nader Najafi, MD; Dimiter Milev, MPH; Marcia Glass, MD; Yile Ding, MD; Alvin R. Rajkomar, MD; Michelle Mourad, MD; Sumant Ranji, MD; Dr. Bradley A. Sharpe, MD and James D Harrison, MPH, PhD

Trainee: Prevalence and Appropriateness of Fasting Orders in the Hospital: “Doctor, When Can I Eat?”
Atsushi Sorita, MD, MPH; Charat Thongprayoon, MD; Adil Ahmed, MD; Ruth E. Bates, MD; John T. Ratelle, MD; Katie M. Rieck, MD; Aditya P. Devalapalli, MD; Meltiady Issa, MD; Riddhi M. Shah, MD; Miguel A. Lalama, MD; Wang Zeng, PhD; M. Hassan Murad, MD, MPH and Deanne T. Kashiwagi, MD


Overall: Developing Frontline Teams to Drive Health System Transformation

Jeffrey J. Glasheen, MD; Ethan Cumbler, MD; Patrick P. Kneeland, MD; Jennifer L. Wiler, MD, MBA; Daniel Hyman, MD; Gail Armstrong, DNP, PhD(c), ACNS-BC, CNE; Sarah J. Caffrey, MBA1; Zachary Robison, MBA; Bryan Gomez, BA; Molly Lane, BS; Michelle Rove, BS; Heather J. Bennett, MS, MBA and Read G. Pierce, MD

Trainee Award: Enhancing Patient Engagement in Stroke Care: Developing Patient Centered Tools

David Medrano; Megan Ross, MPH; Stephen Groves, MBA; Melanie Muszelik; Madeline Rovira; Rachel de Andrade Pereira, MS; Joseph R Sweigart, MD; Read G. Pierce, MD and Dr. Darlene Tad-y, MD


Overall: Leave No Stone Unturned
Dr. John Stephens, MD and Davis Viprakasit, MD

Trainee: Discharge Against Medical Advice: A Challenge in Patient-Centered Care
Parker Richards Hill, MD and Jennifer Pascoe, MD

Pediatric Hospital Medicine: When a Fever Gets Cross-Eyed

Ana G. Cristancho, MD, PhD and Tara Wedin, MD

Patient Experience

Building a Patient Centered Hospitalist Culture

Suparna Dutta, MD MPH; Francis Fullam, MA; Jisu Kim, MD MSc FHM; Jill Wener, MD; Margaret McLaughlin, MD and Amir K Jaffer, MD, MBA

About the Author:


Related Posts

By  | March 7, 2018 |  0
I am angry. Perhaps, you are too. As a physician, it is heart-wrenching to watch people unnecessarily die from gun violence. As a mom, it strikes fear in my heart to know that our nation’s children are not safe in our schools. I vividly remember being a resident on call in the ICU when I […]
By  | February 28, 2018 |  0
“We are playing the same sport, but a different game,” the wise, thoughtful emergency medicine attending physician once told me. “I am playing speed chess – I need to make a move quickly, or I lose – no matter what. My moves have to be right, but they don’t always necessarily need to be the […]
By  | February 26, 2018 |  0
The sudden resignation of White House staff secretary Rob Porter got me to thinking. Let me say up front this post isn’t about politics. And by the time it gets uploaded, our national ten-minute news cycle will probably have moved on to some other world crisis or titillating disclosure and people will be saying, “Rob […]

Leave A Comment